DRABBLE | RANDOM WORD DAY 121

They Call Him Octo-Morpho-Spider

And he’s coming for you…

Anthea Jones
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readApr 30, 2024

--

Today’s random word is urine.

Green tent in the woods at night, lit up from within.
Image by vovashevchuk (via Canva Pro)

Hope you have as much fun reading this drabble (a story of exactly 100 words) as I did writing it. I’ve been away for a few days and it totally cracked me up to come back to this random word!

“He can be a spider or an octopus, and morph between them. One day, he’ll have four hairy spider legs and four slimy octopus ones and a hundred insect eyes…”

“Shut up, Tommy.” My baby brother pulls the sleeping bag over his head. It’s almost too easy.

“…the next he’ll be all spider so he can scurry fast but with a ginormous blob head and fat nostrils to follow the trail of urine and sniff out little bed-wetters like you.”

“I’m telling Mom.” Henry wriggles out of his bag and dashes out, leaving the tent unzipped…

flapping…

scratching…

“Mooooom!”

Drabble with us at Fiction Shorts:

--

--

Anthea Jones
Fiction Shorts

I write whimsical stories of colour, excitement, joy and revenge. And I'm kind of fascinated by words and language. And play, especially in teens and adults.