Those Were the Days

A story of unsung heroes

Nancy S Rust
Fiction Shorts

--

Today’s random word is school.

AI Copilot Image Creator by author

“Miss Cooper, you’re applying to teach in a one-room school. I trust you know proper behavior.”

“Yes, sir. Don’t dye my hair; don’t smoke or drink; don’t wear make-up or bright colors; don’t get married.”

“Very good. You know to keep attendance in the black book and grades in the blue book?”

“Yes sir.”

“You won’t have help. You must sweep the floor daily, wash the blackboards, and start the fire by seven. Now, I want to get to know you. What do you consider the most important part of your day?”

Lighting a fire — in my students!

“A good teacher is like the rising sun that comes to fill the empty and dark minds with the light of the education” ― Anamika Mishra

Denée, Carole, and Anna wrote drabbles I love. I think you will too.

--

--

Nancy S Rust
Fiction Shorts

Journeying through pages and paths, chasing words, embracing life, promoting literacy. .