True Colours šŸ’ššŸ’œā¤

Short Fiction

Neera Handa Dr
Fiction Shorts

--

In response to the random word Colours

Holi image credit Authorā€™s private album

During Holi, celebration of colours, I found my true colours!

Someone offered me a green concoction, made from some herbs that can intoxicate a bit, bringing oneā€™s trueĀ feelingsĀ out, daring me to taste it!

I slurped it down with a glass of golden bubbly.

A lethal combination!!

Laughter bubbled out, hazy orange, pink sparks all around, settling in a red dust cloud, slowly turning blue, purple, then everything started to look a bit sad, almost black!

I don't remember much after that!

But I promised to myself that, if I ever woke up, Iā€™d write a story about it!

This drabble is in response to Nancy Oglesbyā€™s Random Word Colours!

Here is a link to her post.

139 Random Word Drabble. Challenge 5/18 | by Nancy Oglesby | Fiction Shorts | May, 2024 | Medium

An interesting drabble by Colleen Millsteed on colours as well.

Out Of Her Control. Fiction Shorts word of the day: Colour | by Colleen Millsteed | Fiction Shorts | May, 2024 | Medium

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Fiction Shorts

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.