Fiction Shorts Random Drabble #182

What I Am Hiding

The conclusion to an earlier story entitled What Are You Hiding

Michael John Scott
Fiction Shorts

--

A Drabble must be 100 words, exactly, employing a specific word, which today is ‘throe. ' We must finish a partly completed story. This Drabble starts where that story left off.

Credit: Author/Dall-E-3 AI

…I was in the throes of an identity crisis. Every day was a relentless battle against my true self, a constant war of pretense. I longed for authenticity yet feared the repercussions of revealing my true nature.

Once a protective barrier, the mask now felt like a suffocating shroud. Each smile or laugh was a dagger to my soul, deepening the chasm between who I was and who I pretended to be.

The weight of my deception crushes me. How much longer can I endure this agony? Something has to change. I have to find a way out, and soon.

About the Author: Professor Mike is a retired police executive with a doctorate. He teaches global security, among other subjects, at a well-known university. He writes for MadMikesAmerica, Substack, and Medium. He has also written for CNN.

This story concludes the following submission by Poet In The Arctic:

Goldie Trojan offers up some fun fantasy:

My Drabbles

105 stories

For some, this story by Jennifer Morrison may conjure some great memories:

If you’d like to learn more and join the Fiction Shorts Drabble challenge, please click on the link below to learn how:

Don’t want to be tagged? Let me know. Want to be tagged? Let me know :-)

Harry Hogg Randy Pulley Karen Schwartz Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋 Stephen Dalton Nancy Santos Nancy S Rust Nancy Oglesby Goldie Trojan Denée King Eko B Val Francis Master Jodi Harrison-Lee Nanie Hurley 🌿 Karen Hoffman Poet In The Arctic Jennifer Morrison

--

--

Michael John Scott
Fiction Shorts

Professor Mike is a retired cop, veteran, and dog lover. He writes in a variety of genres, even politics. He teaches because he is too old to do anything else.