When the Metaphor Is No Longer Needed

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2024

Today’s random word is telegraph

Photo by the author of Amedeo Modigiani’s Nude, taken at The Courtland Gallery in London

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

She saw the shadow of an axe.

It no longer scared her.

The tool was slowly fading.

Perhaps tomorrow, afterward, when she relives it, the ax will be gone.

Her mother had warned her about boys.

“What’s bad about them,” she asked.

“The look they give you,” her mother said.

“What do you mean?”

“They telegraph what they want.”

What do they want?

To always take and never give, except.

But I like what he gives me. It makes me feel good.

Does he satisfy you?

Yes, he knows the secret.

He now sees the shadow of a blooming Clitoria.

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.