Fiction | Drabble | 150 words | Pets

Who’s Smarter?

A short story of two cats and a dog

Patricia Timmermans
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJul 13, 2024

--

150-word drabble, and the random word today is family

AI created image of two cats looking at each other as though they are having a discussion, in the background a lady is getting the dog ready for a walk,
Image made using Bing AI Image Creator

“Have you noticed dogs are always tethered to a human but we’re not?” Zoey asked.

“Cats are smarter, we’d survive out there — I would anyway,” Buddy replied smugly.

“Excuse me, who gets what she wants, at any time? I mew sweetly and, voila!”

“Sure, but did you live in the alleys eating scraps and getting chased by coyotes and children?”

“Yes, but I wore my most pitiful face, got dropped into a box and when they opened it, I was part of this family.”

“Have you tried leaving?”

“Once, before your time, I dashed outside and up a tree. The box experience was weird but I saw everything from up there!”

“Your point?”

“If I ever got lost, I’d know the neighbourhood.”

“How did you get back inside?”

“The lady tried coaxing me down with chicken, but I held out for chicken with gravy.”

“Indeed, we are both equally smart.”

The Random Word Drabble Challenge is for you if you’re

--

--

Patricia Timmermans
Fiction Shorts

With my guide dog, Cooper, I volunteer at the CNIB and visit schools to raise awareness for sight loss. Dogs and kids’ questions make the best stories. 🇨🇦