Fiction / Drabble / Challenge

Wills and Laws and the New Kingdom on Earth

Why bother

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

--

The random word for the day is rapid.
The first sentence for today’s drabble must be
“I’m not going to the reading of the will….”

A close-up of a smiling overweight old man with yellow hair and large pointed ears and a golden crown.
AI image generated via Bing Copilot Designer by the author.

Drabbles are works of fiction of exactly 100 words. No more. No less.
Please stay on the page for 30 seconds or more, so the stories are counted as read. Please read, highlight, clap, comment — let us know you’ve been here! Thank you!

I’m not going to the reading of the will. Why bother? King Donald has already promised everyone that I will not inherit one penny from my father’s estate.

Remember what the Supreme Court did a year ago? They said he was immune from prosecution for any official act. So, he may take it all if he wants.

He killed my father who had the temerity to prosecute him. He will probably just order the military or the Justice Department to kill me if I protest.

I have seen the rapid demise of our democracy since he was elected last November.

Here is Nancy Oglesby’s prompt for Day 184 of the Random Word Drabble Challenge on Fiction Shorts:

CJ Coop is one of our double drabblers. He writes drabbles just about every day for Fiction Shorts and also dabbles in Drabble Drops for his own publication, Lodestar Gazette. Here is a recent drabble for the random word exhaustive:

My Tag List

Let me know in a comment if you would like to be added to or deleted from this list: Harry Hogg, Luke Warburton, A man leading a simple life, Michael Rhodes, Randy Pulley, Bruce Coulter, Adrienne Beaumont, Julia A. Keirns, Delaney Patterson, Karen Schwartz, Lynn L. Alexander, Judy Derby, Kelly Corinne Elliott, Paula Shablo, Michele Maize, CJ Coop, Brandon Ellrich, Patricia Timmermans, Maria Rattray, Jonny Masters, Stephen Dalton, Izzibella Beau, Denée King, Nancy S Rust, Robin MS, Glenn M Stewart and John Hansen.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

I read books and then travel to places I read about. And I bring my camera with me.