You F*cking Freak!

Jeanette’s apple pie ain’t pretty

Nancy Oglesby
Fiction Shorts
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2024

--

A Drabble is a work of fiction that is exactly 100 words. No more. No less.

Image Credit: Not my mom. LOL / Canva Pro

Today’s random word is doughy.

If you stay on this page for 30 seconds, clap at least once, highlight a passage, and comment, I get paid. It’s that simple.

What the hell Nancy Jo? I asked you to make an apple pie and you bring this… this… slop!? It’s ice cold and a gigantic rectangle! Who makes rectangular pies? Who? And, it’s in a beat-up, old 9x13 pan. Have you lost your mind? Damnit! Why did I trust you? I should have known. You fucking freak!

This is a disaster! There’s nothing for it but to serve. Everyone’s waiting.

With a tight smile, Barbara headed into the dining room.

The square pieces were served.

Guests looked askance.

Applause followed.

Her mother’s recipe, and pan, always delivered.

Jeanette’s (my mom) original recipe… Highly detailed, eh? Let me fill you in. Make two pie crusts and line a 9"x13" pan. Dot the crust with butter, fill to the top with diced/cubed apples, and pour in the mixture below sprinkling a little sugar between the layers of apples. (That’s 1 pint of sour cream, and 325 degrees Fahrenheit.)…

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
Fiction Shorts

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication