December 7th

John Masserini
Fiction Hub
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2016

It’s not odd to be in an elevator with a stranger, it happens almost every time that you are in one. The difference, is that this time we are stuck in the elevator for an unspecified time.

We stop halfway between the 31 and 32 floors.

It’s just me and the creepy guy standing in the corner. He has on faded jeans and a button down shirt.

His pale face turned toward me.

“Man, getting stuck in elevators are never fun, you know?”

“Oh definitely. Hopefully they will get us out of here soon.”

“Well, while we are here, what brings you to Vegas?

The question threw me off me off more than it should have in the situation.

“The wife and I decided to take a long weekend so we could have a bit of fun away from the stresses of daily life. What brings you here?”

“Actually,” the strange man says matter-of-factly, “I came to this exact hotel 34 years ago today so I could marry the love of my life!”

“That is amazing, congratulations to you both!”

“Oh, no congratulations are needed. You see, unfortunately my wife died in this elevator mere hours after we exchanged vows. The elevator dropped nearly 32 floors. She did not stand a chance. I come back every year to remember her”

Wait. Nearly 32 floors? So she was stuck between... floors 31 and 32?

Panic starts to set in. I reach for the call button and yell.

The elevator falls silent. I sink to the floor as no one answers. I feel like I have been stuck here elevator forever. This strange man behind me continues to creep me out.

I need to get out.

I feel like I have been stuck here elevator forever.

I need to get out.

Then, a ding. The elevator moves again.

I reach floor 35. My floor.

The door opens up, my wife is standing there waiting for me.

“Thank goodness, they finally got us unstuck from the elevator!”

“Honey,” my wife states worried, “you were never stuck in the elevator. Also, who is the ‘us’ you are talking about? You were the only one in the elevator.”

--

--