What She’s Really Thinking When You Think You Know What She’s Thinking

A 100-word story*

Stuart James
Fiction Hub
1 min readDec 10, 2016

--

Found at singleblackmale.org. As far as I can tell, it’s quite innocent

“I understand,” said the first man, before proceeding to prove conclusively that he did not.

“I know exactly what you want,” said another, who really didn’t know anything of the sort. How could he?

“Your word is my command,” said yet another. “I’m going out to spread the word!” Which he did, expending prodigious amounts of effort. In a way, it was almost admirable; but not in every way, because in practically no time they started arguing, and then they were all fighting, and worse.

So that’s men for you. Honestly, I sometimes wonder why I bothered to create them.

*defined here. My aim is one a day throughout December. If you’d care to join me, please use the tag 100wordstory.

--

--