Green Lacewing in the Garden

Christina M. Ward
Fiddleheads & Floss
1 min readOct 9, 2019

--

a free verse poem

Image by artsehn from Pixabay

The delicate smile of a green lacewing
landing there, on an aster reaching
towards Heaven.

A union made by chance of the breeze,
nature’s own, entwined, tickled with the soft,
cool dews of April.

If I could become so small
as to land upon flowers!
To flit about in that freedom!

If I could climb into your copper eyes,
would I remember how it tickled me so?

If you could please, I’d like to visit the garden.
I need to feel the whisper of your wings
as we dance among the bees.

This poem was previously published but in an earlier version.

Christina Ward 🌼 is a poet and writer from North Carolina. She loves writing poetry about the small things in life.

--

--

Christina M. Ward
Fiddleheads & Floss

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon