Iridescence: A Free Verse Poem Demonstrating Metaphor

Let the reader decide interpretation of “Iridescence”

Christina M. Ward
Fiddleheads & Floss
2 min readNov 9, 2019

--

Image by edith lüthi from Pixabay

Iridescence

The iridescence of raindrops,
wildly colorful in oil-slicked
patterns on the pavement.

Reflections of my face, twisting
into spiraled nonsense,
one ear slides into blue.

An eye morphs into yellowed blur.

I try to see closely
the parts of me
where they should be,

but the mirror of rain and oil
is a lying lens, a syncopated
juncture of earth and man
and sky.

The spill of sin smears me
into something I am not
meant to be.

I am afraid to smile.

I do not want to see
the dreadful color
that would be.

Metaphor: a thing regarded as representative or symbolic of something else, especially something abstract. — Google Dictionary

--

--

Christina M. Ward
Fiddleheads & Floss

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon