The Mice Inside Me — A Short Story with a Haunting Feel

A short allegorical & atmostpheric fiction piece about living with anxiety. Some might call this horror.

Christina M. Ward
Fiddleheads & Floss
4 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

Photo by Cliff Johnson on Unsplash

This short story was originally entered into a Vocal Media contest but did not win. Sharing here with my Medium.com audience who loves and follows my fiction. The story is an allegory, but was marked as a horror piece by Vocal Media. Can you find the underlying meaning?
If you are having trouble viewing this content here’s how to fix that.

THE MICE INSIDE ME

by Christina M. Ward

I am a barn without an owl.

Last night, and every night since the weather turned cold and the horses were ushered in with their clip-clop hustle, the mice underfoot have taken refuge, tunneling through hay and scurrying along the beams. I scarce can stand the noise. They creep beneath my skin the moment I get still.

I pull the sheet higher and wrestle to keep it folded, just so, over the crimp and itch of the top blanket, a necessary weight to shield me against the cold, seeping in through the double sliding doors. I don’t have the energy to get up and shut the blinds. When I was a child, it was the gaping mouth of the closet door, open wide…

--

--

Christina M. Ward
Fiddleheads & Floss

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon