1 tip to enjoy spending money 🙋🏻‍♂️.

joe.
fidilaa
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2020
Photo by Serge Kutuzov on Unsplash

Livin it up.

Smexy fashion. Out of the world cuisines. I’m never one to be tempted by those but travel and shiny gadgets? Those are my absolute vice. Frugal-me has to often club my lizard brain into a state of non-spending disorientation.. well, except for travel. I think done properly, embracing new cultures and a first hand experience into the inner-workings of different parts of the world can be immensely rewarding for one’s personal development. Not to mention that it can be incredibly eye-opening for your investing life too.

What about them shiny gadgets?

Computers, laptops, mobile phones.. oh.. especially those mobile phones. I’m not ashamed to say it. I really love my iPhone 📱. It’s the portable magic box that allows me to consume news, listen to podcasts, capture memories, Netflix, listen to countless albums.. it’s not an overstatement to say that it’s an extension of my brain. Sleeker looking to boot.

So it sounds like I’m in a perfect marriage with my gadget right? Welll.. blame it on the media.. blame it on advertising.. blame it on capitalism but more often than not, after a while, I tend to get a bit of an itch to try something else. I’ve done the old device switcheroo plenty of times. Not necessarily to just iPhones. I’m all about universal love for Apple, Android.. and Apple ❤️. At times, it could even be a downgrade to an older device because I miss a certain “feature”. All that.. to only switch back to my current device 🤦🏻‍♂️. I know. Don’t judge me. Everyone has their vices. The only difference is mine makes relatively less sense than others. Thankfully, I make sure that my incremental cost of switching devices is as minimal as possible through some legit Gumtree (Craigslist) hustling.

So what’s the solution?

Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

Get rid of your money.

“Huh? You.. you mean.. like.. throwing away money?”

Welllll.. sorta.. not really. My method is simple and is based on the concept of out-of-sight, out-of mind or in this case, out of the ability to spend.

As of this year, anytime I feel a tingling feeling to buy something, whatever quantum the amount is, I’ll just chuck the cash equivalent of that item’s price into investments straight away. No questions asked, no buts, whats, and ifs. Just chuck the damn coinage into some investments.

“Aw.. man.. but.. investments.. are so.. hard.. What to pick.. when to buy… what if it’s just $20”

Don’t upset a man dressed in a bat costume.

We briefly swam in some sweet microinvesting conversation in my previous post here and Spaceship Voyager is my investing tool of choice. There’s no minimums, the app is quick and easy to use, and most important of all, it takes away a lot of mental hurdles by buying into an ETF of top 200 global companies.

“We buy things we don’t need with money we don’t have to impress people we don’t like” — Dave Ramsey

That’s it! The next time you feel an insatiable craving to buy an object that will fulfill your dreams and destiny.. OK. CALM DOWN, WEINSTEIN. Not those kind. Anytime you feel like you need to spend some coin, spend it on your investment account 👆 instead. Before you know it, you’ll get a “spending hit” from investing and end up with a much fatter bank account.

Disclaimer: I know this is my second post about Spaceship. I definitely do not get any kickbacks, back massages, or daily positive affirmation messages from them. I genuinely love the product as it fits my needs very well. The both of us will get a shiny AUD$5 each if you do sign up using my referral code of S83ZOFT5K3 here.

Thanks for reading guys. Time for pork buns.

joe from fidilaa.

--

--

joe.
fidilaa
Editor for

Analyst by profession. Financial independence, tech, and startup enthusiast. A better person after eggs & coffee. Thanks for dropping by.