A day in the life of “the everyday customer”

Nora Trice
Field Notes from A Hundred Monkeys
2 min readJun 17, 2022

̶T̶h̶e̶ ̶m̶a̶n̶, the myth…

As creative professionals working with clients big and small, we sometimes hear this phrase: “the name needs to appeal to the everyday customer”, or “…the everywoman”, etc. Usually this comes from market research and a need (particularly for large brands) to secure their spot on shelves around the country with a name that everyone can get into.

This got me thinking, who is the everyday customer? Do they even exist? What’s a day in their life like?

6:30am: Wake up

Shower, then put on makeup that feels invisible but stays on all day. I work in an office but might do a spin class later — so my deodorant is gentle but strong.

7:15am: Breakfast

Some light Greek yogurt. I’m health-conscious, but never want to skimp on flavor. Every bite should be a nutritious, delicious trip to Santorini.

8:19am: Commute

Drive to work downtown. It’s important that I arrive in style, but I like to go off-roading on the weekends, so my car needs to be sporty yet refined.

10:42am: Coffee break

The usual: Chai Latte from the Starbucks downstairs. I only drink coffee that is ethically-sourced, ideally within a one-block radius.

12:45pm: Lunch

Coworker compliments my new Apple Watch. I’m a gearhead who’s perpetually late, so I wanted something that can monitor my blood oxygen levels throughout the day and also tell time.

5:45pm: Get home

Feed the dog. He deserves only the best-quality, all-natural food that will help him live a long, fulfilling life. Except for when “he won’t know the difference.”

6:15pm: Post-work workout

I finally invested in a Peloton because I love exercising alone but also with people.

7:45pm: Dinner and drinks

It’s been a long day — the espresso martini keeps me wired but relaxed.

10:15pm: Bedtime routine

I use a super lightweight cleanser for a deep clean. Tell Alexa to set an alarm with any random song because I love structure with spontaneity.

“The everyday customer” is filled with contradictions. The task of appealing to this persona can’t be easy, because it might just be impossible.

Thanks to Rose and Eli.

--

--