About this publication

Deirdre Remida Conde
Field Notes of an Indie Academic
1 min readOct 18, 2018

First posts are always tricky, so I’ll keep this short.

I miss being a scholar. Although I like saying that I am a student of life and that learning never stops, I miss having a semi-structured way of reading, writing, gathering data, and sharing insights.

Frustratedly, I was explaining to my dad a couple of weeks ago how I would like independent learning efforts to be more socially acceptable. I didn’t want to antagonize the traditional learning systems that exist now, but I simply wanted alternatives to be recognized — ideally, acknowledged to be equally as effective in sharing and challenging knowledge.

So while I’m working up the courage to prove my point (or waiting for the resistance to die down and finally give in to status quo by enrolling in graduate school), I’m gonna flex the academic muscle by publishing some notes I have on stuff I’ve read and realized.

Besides, public projects like this help make me accountable to pursuing stuff I list down on my brainspace backlog.

I’ll substantiate that and my main point in a future post.

Indie Academic: Deirdre’s Log, Stardate 96397.26.

--

--

Deirdre Remida Conde
Field Notes of an Indie Academic

Anxious Professional Nerd surviving #startuplife (currently Founder @ Liyab.ph | previously: Strategy @ Entrego, Product @ STORM.tech, Marketing @ MedGrocer)