Naturopathic Medicine for the Whole Family

Amy Rothenberg ND
FieldNotes From Natural Medicine
3 min readApr 9, 2020

--

The author with her family many years ago
The author with her family many years ago

A family comes in to see me a few months back: an upbeat mom and her delightful three kids. When I see they are on the docket for the day, my heart lifts a bit. Healthy & robust, with a mom who is a detailed observer and reporter and a positive person, I know my time with the family will be interesting and upbeat and a bit of a break from many more seriously ill patients who make up an increasingly large part of my practice docket.

This family is one type I see day-to-day as a licensed naturopathic doctor (ND). They live a healthier lifestyle & want their medicine to match that lifestyle.

Other patients are looking for answers to medical problems that have not been helped by conventional care. Some are referred to me from MDs, DOs and allied health providers, with whom I have a long history of referring back and forth and with whom I work collaboratively. Perhaps a patient does tolerate a medication that though effective, cannot be continued. Naturopathic doctors aim to treat the whole person, to identify and treat the underlying cause of symptoms and to support the body’s inherent healing capacity. We work with therapeutic nutrition, botanical medicine, the exercise prescription and more. We are fully trained in drug/nutrient and drug/botanical interaction and as state license allows, can prescribe certain medications. A third group of people…

--

--

Amy Rothenberg ND
FieldNotes From Natural Medicine

American Association of Naturopathic Physician’s 2017 Physician of the Year. Teacher, writer and advocate for healthy living. www.nhcmed.com