FF Rucksack Prototype No 1

Robin Howie
Fieldwork Facility
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2020

--

Here we go… #FFRucksack Prototype No 1! For years I’ve been thinking about making our very own backpack which is perfectly tailored for design fieldwork… Today I made the very first *super rough* prototype.
Like everyone else we are working from home during #lockdown so I don’t have many supplies laying around… This prototype was made using a couple of leftover sheets from a Massimo Vignelli stendig calendar and masking tape.

Notes—
With this version I wanted to test a landscape orientation to hold a 15inch laptop… Overall its bloody massive though… I just wanted to get started so all the sizing was intuitive rather than making any measurements… essentially its bigger than it needs to be. It’s a good height but the width is crazy. The depth is a little nuts too… I have a tendency to use any and all rucksack capacity so I want to try and design out this habit and keep to the essentials. With the next prototype I want play with the form more… reduce the depth of the gussets and mix up the placement and size of the quick-access pockets… not very practical at the moment.

p.s Check out our blog post titled ‘Studio is an Attitude’ if you are curious about how we work in the field.

--

--

Robin Howie
Fieldwork Facility

Creative Director and Founder of Fieldwork Facility. Fieldwork Facility is a design studio for uncharted territories. fieldworkfacility.com