An interview with photographer Jake Porter

FIELDWORK
FieldworkStories
Published in
4 min readApr 19, 2017
All photos featured taken by Jake.

This week we got in touch with Jake Porter a photographer and creator from the Bay Area, California. Browsing through his photos you get a real feel for his attitude towards photography and his confidence. He was kind enough to answer some of our questions about photography.

You can find him on instagram here @iamjakeporter and his website is here. All featured photos were taken by Jake. Go give him some love!

“Photography is my passion and I love taking photos that convey mood and emotion in the hopes of inspiring others” - Jake

  1. Hey Jake, let’s get right into it. We know California is a great place to be and take photos, have you always lived there? Or did anywhere else inspire you to take photos?

Yes. I’ve lived in California all my life, but places like Washington State and Oregon in the Pacific North West really inspire me right now, and places like Iceland, and Scottish Highlands are next up on my list.

2. You mentioned you’re into photography is this just a passion or something that you actively involve in work?

Right now, I’m actively pursuing photography and videography as a career, but I definitely don’t want to be limited in my creativity. I’ve also been really interested in music for the majority of my life, and would love to spend more time producing the kinds of music that I enjoy. I would also like to get into graphic design and maybe basic cinematography animation.

3. Did you always know you wanted to be involved in creating content? or did you have any other passions you wanted to pursue (sport or anything)?

Yeah, I always knew that I wanted to create content in one medium or another. I love the fact that I am at a point in my life where I can pretty much create whatever I want. It’s an awesome feeling.

We love a good portrait and apparently so does Jake!

4. We’re big on getting the right fit from the places where you work do you mostly work at home, in an office or out in cafes?

I mostly work at home right now, and I’ve been able to do a lot of work in cafes and coffee shops. Ideally, I would like to work while travelling so being able to fit work into a busy lifestyle is important to me and crucial for success in a very saturated creative community.

FIELDWORK loves this photo as it stems from the love of ‘never stop exploring’

5. Gear is really important to us. What is the number 1 item you couldn’t live without?

First of all, I love gear and I consider myself somewhat of a gear junkie.

Two pieces of gear I couldn’t live without right now are my laptop and my Canon T6s with my Sigma 19–35mm lens. I have a very wide range of gear that I use very frequently, but as far as recommending gear, I would have to recommend my drone (a DJI Phantom 3) and my stabilizer (a Glidecam XR Pro) as well as my camera and the lenses I use.

Lenses for note:

  • Canon 50mm, 18–135mm, 55–250mm
  • Sigma 18–35mm

“My utmost desire is to help people realize the importance of living life to its fullest”- Jake

It’s great to chat with people who are as much gear junkies as us. We love how you’re recommending a stabilizer, they’re often forgotten as key pieces of a photographers arsenal.

Thanks to Jake for the interview, we’ve loved finding out a bit more about what makes you tick as a photographer and creator.

If you want to get in touch with Jake follow the link to his instagram @iamjakeporter

We hope you’ve enjoyed reading this interview and taking a look at some of Jakes photography. He’s definitely someone who we’ve come to admire over Instagram.

Let us know if you’ve enjoyed our first full interview on the blog, we’ve been featuring some photographers recently over on our Instagram but want to properly transition into writing full pieces about influencers who inspire us over at FIELDWORK.

If you want to get in touch you can find us here: FIELDWORK

And we’re on all social as @FieldworkUK

For an extra special bit of goodness we’ve snuck Jakes more personal insta handle here: @itsjakelife

--

--