Windows 10 Sleeping Early

Justin
Fierce Punch Studios
1 min readAug 10, 2016

I upgraded from Windows 8.1 to 10. I love so much about the direction they’re going, but it’s still rough in places. One thing that crept up on me is how soon the system sleeps after idling. My power options were set to turn off display after 5 minutes and sleep after 15. Just today, it shut down behind me in the moment I took to pet an insistent cat!

The Offender

I’ve found a few other people experiencing the same problem. It happens when W10 incorrectly migrates existing power plans from previous versions of Windows. Windows substitutes a hidden 2 minute (!) sleep timer, even if your power plan still displays the correct settings.

One solution is to edit the registry, resetting the power plan and losing your customizations. However, restoring your power plan defaults does the same thing with fewer risks.

In summary, if Windows 10 dips out after only a couple of minutes, restore your power plan defaults. Now, go. Pet your cats in peace.

--

--