Free Verse Poetry on Fierce Femme

The Hollow Between Us

A love that lingers

Ani Eldritch
Fierce Femme

--

Ky Nang took this photo of a lesbian couple in a tender embrace.
Photo by Ky Nang on Unsplash

I am the whisper of a name
caught in the throat of night,
the trace of your breath
woven in my hair, a net of longing
that tugs with every heartbeat.
Your eyes are the open sky,
a fragile blue that bleeds
into my waking,
and I fall through you,
a feather adrift
in the tremor of this silence.

You touch me,
a flicker in the dark,
and I am all sharp edges
and soft light,
a shimmer that shatters
at the thought of you.
I hold the shape of your hand
in mine, empty,
yet full of all we could be,
the space between our bodies
a hollow that echoes
with every unspoken word.

Love, you are a shadow,
the outline of a dream
I can never quite grasp,
yet here I am,
chasing the light
you cast across my skin,
a pale ghost
that lingers long after
you’ve faded into memory.

I want to fold into you,
become the echo
that fills the gaps
in your breath,
but I am tethered
to the ground,
rooted in the place
where you are not,
and all I have
is the weight of your absence,
a love that lingers
like the scent of rain
on a summer night,
fleeting, yet full
of promise.

So I stand here,
on the edge of this moment,
a step away from you,
from us,
and I wonder
if love is the hollow between us,
the space where we meet
and part,
forever caught
in the endless fall.

Ani Eldritch 2024

--

--

Ani Eldritch
Fierce Femme

I am a writer and poet based in New York City. My work is available in several Medium publications, including my own, Fierce Femme.