Free Verse Poetry on Fierce Femme

Tyranny of Silence

The space between heartbeats

Ani Eldritch
Fierce Femme

--

Marc Grove took this photo of a lonely tree on a cornfield at sundown.
Photo by Marc Grove on Unsplash

In the brittle light,
I’m a shadow
clinging to shadows,
mumbling whispers
that flake like old paint
on rusted walls.

The room is a cage,
humming and sputtering
like a tired machine,
where time distorts
into a broken record.

I carve paths
through the fog of the mundane,
each step a question,
each breath a confession
to ghosts in the corners,
their silence a scream.

Walls breathe heavily,
a visceral sigh
of unspoken truths
and crumpled dreams.

Outside, the sky
is an unforgiving smear,
a canvas smeared
with the dull ache of existence.

I am the space
between heartbeats,
the trembling breath
that stutters through
a perpetual dusk.

Silence settles,
a cold shroud
over the hollow echo
of my own making.

Ani Eldritch 2024

--

--

Ani Eldritch
Fierce Femme

I am a writer and poet based in New York City. My work is available in several Medium publications, including my own, Fierce Femme.