Back in the saddle!

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2018

After a little more than a week off, I needed to get back out today and put in some miles!

Spent the morning over coffee doing some bike maintenance and cleaning, charging up my stuff, and reassembling a simple repair bag for local rides.

Hit the White Pine Trail headed towards Rockford for my first outing. The bike is so much lighter, responsive, super quick maneuverability, and fast without the trailer and gear!

As the Niner prefers IPAs, stopped for lunch and beverage at Elk Brewing in Comstock Park. Then an easy cruise back into GR. Short ride but felt great to be back riding again!

Thoughts from the week

I really miss spending so much of the day outside. I’ve been seeking outdoor activity each day. Cycling and camping meant spending 100 percent of my time outside, so everything else seems to fall short. I think that’s why I found the Jeep appealing. So I can feel outside while driving, and it just belongs in outdoorsy places!

Early contemplations on a next adventure. Will definitely include outdoor activity, perhaps cycling, or maybe water? Open to suggestions!

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.