Day 33-Pelican Rapids to Alexandria , MN

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2018

What a great riding day!

Very early start today as I was anxious to be moving for some reason. Was pedaling by 6:10 am after a small snack and coffee.

Had an easy ride down county roads with lots of lake views. Saw beaver, loons, a fox, pheasant, a few hawks and many ducks. (Oh, and geese, but they seem to be everywhere).

Stopped for breakfast in Furgus Falls after a great chat on the Main Street with Paul, an avid cyclist who caught up to me headed into town. He had done a similar trek years ago, but stopped in Minneapolis.

He recommended breakfast at the Viking Cafe and also gave me directions to the local bike shop where I could get some needed supplies.

After grabbing a new rear view mirror and a extra spare tube, I found the highlight of the day (or two!) The route, for the next 100 miles was on a converted rail trail. No traffic and no hills! Just peaceful trail riding!!

I sped through the last 50 miles of the day with a short lunch pit stop in Brandon at Joe’s Gas and Deli.

(Okay, it can’t always be simple…)

Made it to Alexandria in the early afternoon. The Niner requested air conditioning tonight, so I obliged. I’m taking the bed though.

So I’m soaking in the whirlpool as I write this and plan to venture out for dinner shortly. The Pike & Pint is just down the way! Plan to be back on the rail trail early morning tomorrow!

Stats

Time: 5:26:22 hours

Distance: 74.7 miles

Average Speed: 13.74 mph, Max Speed: 39.51 mph

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.