Day 34-Alexandria to Milaca, MN

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2018

Ideal conditions for a ride today. So much so that I was able to accomplish my mini goal of a century ride today! 💯

Thought I’d get one in on the plains, with a good westerly wind, which never happened. But everything aligned today. 65 miles of rail-trail and 45 miles of good road with overcast skies and light winds provided the right conditions to go! So I did!

Left Alexandria by 6:30 am and completed the rail trail portion around 11 am. Was sad to leave the peaceful surroundings when I reached Bowlus.

Ate a hearty lunch in the park and continued on the route via road again. Good roads and light traffic helped keep me moving at a decent pace.

A few stops at Little Rock and Ramsey for rest, then into Milaca for the day.

Met up with the couple I passed in North Dakota a few days back while resting in Ramsey. They are from Bend, Oregon, a place I had hoped to visit on this trip, until I saw the mountain pass it took to get there! They are making great time, heading for Boston.

I should reach Wisconsin tomorrow. Weather looks questionable after that, so my pace might be disrupted. Still hopeful about reaching Lake Michigan west shore next week sometime.

Things I learned yesterday about Alexandria.

I had been curious as to why everything in Minnesota was viking related. It seems the locals hold with some confidence that the Vikings were in the Americas a few hundred years before Columbus. Their evidence is in a rune stone uncovered by a farmer in his field outside Alexandria. It was written in ancient Norwegian and was dated around 1200 AD. It’s called the Kensington Runestone and is on display in the Alexandria museum. Interesting stuff!

Stats

Time: 7:14:22 hours

Distance: 109 miles (Goal 💯 met!)

Average Speed: 15.07 mph, Max Speed: 22.69 mph

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.