Day 35-Milaca to Osceola, WI

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2018

Major milestone today. Entered Wisconsin, the last state before Michigan!

Easy ride again today. Nothing remarkable, just good weather, fair to good road, and motivation to reach Wisconsin.

Scenery was much more farmland than lakes, so not as picturesque, but still pretty country. Definitely reminded me of Michigan. The smell of fresh cut hay, lots of deer crossing the roads, and low rolling hills. A pretty nice ride overall.

A few rest stops including a great early lunch at Kaffe Stuga in Harris, MN. Also had a pleasant conversation with the proprietor at an ice cream shop in Sunrise, the third oldest town in Minnesota. Mostly about cold weather, northern insects, and life. Quite the spectrum of topics!

Celebrated the crossing into Wisconsin at Tippy Canoes Pub & Grub. Outdoor patio bar with about 50 bikers (the Harley type, not cyclist). They invited me to their evening camp for a bbq, but as it was 30 miles away, I politely declined. Easy on a Harley, hours in a Niner!

(St Croix River on the Minnesota -Wisconsin border)

Tomorrow I leave the comfort of the Adventure Cycling route maps I’ve been following since Portland. Their routes don’t lead where I want to go. So I’ll be relying on Google maps and intuition. I know I want to go east until I hit Lake Michigan. Should be easy, right?😬

Wish me luck!

Stats

Time: like 5 hours-ish

Distance: 74+ miles

Average Speed: pretty fast

Max Speed: really fast!

(Okay, so maybe not exact, but I’m charging my Garmin, so I had to guesstimate!)

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.