Day 36-Osceola to Eau Claire, WI

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
2 min readJun 25, 2018

Wisconsin is hilly! Without intent, it seems I set a new personal best in climbing today. 3,336.6 feet! According to my Garmin, more than any single day I had over the mountains!? Crazy!

Fortunately the roads were at least smooth and good for cycling. I just seemed to go from hill to hill. My legs felt it by the end. Happy to reach Eau Claire for the evening and wander down to Dana’s Grill & Sports Bar for food and a cold beer!

Not much to comment on regarding the scenery. Farmland. And rolling hills. Lots of rolling hills…

Took my share of rest breaks from the sun. A lot of Lutheran churches in this area. Always a source for a shady spot and sometimes even a picnic table. I crashed a family reunion while everyone was still in church it seems. I’m sure they didn’t mind me borrowing their shade for a few moments.

I’m confident I’ll rest well tonight in prep for another good ride tomorrow. The weather seems to be cooperating. Supposed to have storms tonight but clear again in the morning. Potential storms on Tuesday, but that won’t impact tomorrow. One day at a time.

Also, navigation via google maps seemed to work just fine. Found enough small towns for resupply of water and Gatorade. Even found a good lunch spot in Wheeler, which had a magnificent BLT!

Stats

Time: 6:12:37 hours

Distance: 84.2 miles

Average Speed: 13.56 mph

Max Speed: 32.79 mph

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.