Day 40-Pentwater to Grand Rapids, MI-HOME!

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
2 min readJun 28, 2018

Journey complete! Didn’t expect it to be a 90 mile finish day, but I took it in stride as my final destination was at the other end!

Mostly got to ride on bike trails instead of roads today. Michigan has a great combination of trails. I had 10 miles from Pentwater to Hart, where I picked up the trail that, with some recent expansion, got me all the way into Muskegon. Then a short 6 miles across town to the Musketawa Trail, which ends on the northwest side Grand Rapids. A final 5–6 miles to the west side of downtown and home!

Took a final stop at O’Tooles for a cold beer and food! It’s a local favorite of mine, and only a few hundred feet from my place.

I’m certainly tired but happy to be complete. Probably take a few days rest before I get out and ride again, but next outing at least won’t include towing a trailer full of gear!

I’m sure I’ll have some final thoughts to share in the next few days, but for now, I’m going to enjoy a little down time!

Thanks to everyone who has been following and cheering me on. It really made a difference and kept my motivation high! Look forward to catching up with some of you personally soon!

Stats

Time: 6:03:57 hours

Distance: 89.8 miles

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.