Focusing on ‘solo’ and what that really means for my upcoming cycling adventure

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2018

--

Solo /ˈsōlō/ — a thing done by one person alone

In preparing for an upcoming solo cross-country cycling ride, I’m struck by the meaning of “solo” in the trip. How does that influence the journey? Here are a few of my reflections.

Time on my hands

A solo ride provides time, alone. I estimate something over 1,500 hours. Maybe just over 1,000 awake hours. That’s roughly one half of a work-year. What could someone accomplish in their career in six months? Good question.

Dedicating this amount of time alone to productive thinking, contemplative efforts towards a purpose — seems great things could be achieved.

Blogging the trip activities will be a baseline activity, but finding a deeper meaning behind the purpose of the trip and the value created, afforded this much solo time, will be the larger mission. The potential ability to impact others in a positive way. Share what I’m experiencing. Focus on storytelling. The “why” and “how” as it unfolds over the journey. This trip is certainly more than just a way to cycle 2,000+ miles.

A few close colleagues and I have even outlined a book idea using cycling as an analogy for other life experiences, personal and professional. That purpose is still a potential. But I’m not forcing the idea, it has to flow naturally.

Mostly, I hope to find a purpose and passion for my talents upon completion of this adventure. My perspective on life has certainly evolved rapidly since the beginning of this year when I encountered significant professional and personal changes. Not one to rush, I’m patiently contemplating the next chapter for me. Not trying to over analyze, but certainly increasing the bandwidth of thought on opportunities. I’m seeking lots of input, both through reading and discussions with close friends and loved ones. Reserving forty nine percent of the decision for them, and retaining my #fiftyonepercent vote.

Gear and supplies

A trip like this requires planning and preparation. Focusing on solo, each piece of gear packed will serve one. Everything needed is carried by one. No shared use equipment, no shared “spare” anything.

This efficiency demands an interesting balance. While a minimal approach is possible when only supporting a single person, there are some efficiency losses. A tent for example. A one man tent is extremely light, yet the per-person weight of a two man tent is lower. A better example is perhaps the cook stove. While I’m packing a whisperLite stove, checking in at a ultralight weight of only 10.9 oz., the same stove could serve the needs of multiple people.

Obviously there are contrary examples, where the weight is directly proportional to the number of supported people. Water, food, fuel, clothing to name a few.

What really is giving me pause is the emergency preparedness aspect. What maintenance tools, spares, replacement parts, etc. are appropriate for this type of ride. Most would agree with the obvious logic of a spare tube, a tire pump, and a few common wrenches to keep things maintained. What about a spare tire? Maybe. A spare chain? Perhaps. Spokes? Pedals? If so, better get the tools to repair/replace these items then too. All of this represents more weight. Worth it? It all has to be transported. Trade-offs.

At the very extreme, one could carry an entire spare bike. I mean, one just for emergency transport, you know, it’s only 15 pounds. Just like towing a small car behind a Class A motorhome. Just to get around.

Okay, so taking it to that end of the spectrum seems a bit over the top. Not sure anyone would agree with or attempt that approach. The other extreme I guess is to really take nothing and hope for nothing to go wrong. I often heard in business conversations that “hope” is not a strategy. Being a strategist at heart, I agree with that sentiment and further conclude it’s not a good approach for this ride.

So I’m stuck in the middle of the spectrum somewhere, making decisions based upon probability of an event occurrence, what it would require to remedy that event, weight, bulk and cost of any given item, impact if it’s not readily available, convenience to transport — making risk based judgments for each and every scenario I can imagine. I will say research on this topic seems easy. A quick Google search reveals dozens of articles and lists. Real life examples from other riders who have done similar trips. But I would argue that ‘similar’ doesn’t always translate. Conditions will certainly vary, my base equipment, the bike for example, is not the same as what others have ridden. Road conditions certainly change, weather is not reliably consistent, so each trip is very unique, providing it’s own challenges, highs and lows, and unknown or unpredictable circumstances. In the end, I have the privilege of making the ultimate decision on what goes and what stays. #fiftyonepercent vote.

Riding solo

An obvious question, one that seems to be first asked by anyone who hears of my upcoming trip, is “are you riding in a group or alone?”

I’ve purposely chosen solo. It’s a deliberate choice. I’ve spoken with cyclist who have done both solo and group rides of this sort. Given my intent and the real theme of #fiftyonepercent the choice seems obvious. Go solo.

I fully expect to encounter others during the ride. There are even tentative plans for a few friends to join me a day-long segments. I welcome the camaraderie this will bring. The bulk of the ride however, both the preparation, and the execution, will be largely solo. I’ll have several along in spirit and do not plan to isolate myself by any means. These writings are an example of a connection I want to foster. I simply feel I can only realize what I’m seeking under a solo approach. So that is how the journey will unfold.

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.