Missing the mountains-but getting in some miles anyway!

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2018

Tackled a 50 miler with breakfast at mile 37 this morning in Rockford. Rode to Sand Lake and back, turning where the trail turns to gravel.

Great riding on the White Pine rail-trail. It’s very peaceful and quiet in the early morning. A bit busier after 9 am with runners, cyclists, and strollers, but still pleasant.

I’m finding it difficult to spend any length of time indoors. I grew accustomed to entire days outside, between cycling and camping. Indoors seems too confining. Enjoyed time at the cabin in Evart, and filled my days with outdoor activity. Mostly clearing trails and cutting firewood. Anything to be outside.

(Got a little carried away on the firewood, but hey, it’ll get used, I’m positive!)

Michigan summers and wonderful! At least lately. High temps, and little to no rain. Cool evenings and early mornings area ideal for outdoor walks or drinking coffee on the front porch.

I am really enjoying my new Jeep too, with the top off, I can be outside even when driving, running errands and such. It’s ideal for my current mindset.

Tomorrow I plan to do another ride, this one with some hill climbing. I’ll welcome the challenge! Reminiscing about the mountain passes, and really miss the magnificent views. I’ll need to plan a trip west very soon I think! There is a certain serenity I feel in Montana. Relaxed, calm, yet excited at the same time. I’d like to explore this feeling further.

I did find time for a leisurely ride with my nephews today. I love encouraging young cyclist! They are always fun to hang out with and are really proficient conversationalist. Kudos to mom and dad on that point!

Also just a quick comment. I had a close friend suffer from a heart condition earlier this week. It weighs heavy on my mind. I’m hoping my ridiculous passion and pursuit of cycling works in my favor in this arena. I’m certainly not very disciplined with diet. Cyclists just need to eat! And that I do, despite being 20+ pounds lighter than six months ago. I’m definitely less stressed, and practice meditation regularly. It all helps I’m sure. Anyway, I’ll keep him in my thoughts for speedy recovery and good health, and pound out a few miles in his honor.

That’s it for now. More on my cycling excursions as they unfold.

--

--

Mark Roys
fiftyonepercent

Avid reader and learner, highly introspective and always seeking a new way to consider why. Advocate for removing life distractions to find one’s true self.