Paper Spotlight on Photographer James Chororos

FiftyThree
A Space to Create - FiftyThree's Blog
2 min readOct 14, 2015

A conversation with photographer James Chororos:

Since the launch of Paper on iPhone, I’ve been using the app on a regular basis, and not just for work. I use the text and image annotation features for personal day-to-day tasks a lot. The new features keep my workflow organized for editing jobs where I want to make notes or when I receive comments from clients that can be itemized, like interiors. For example, adding/removing objects from frames, cropping, color adjustments, tweaking exposure, etc.

I also use Paper for brainstorming ideas for new projects and upcoming assignments. After I get an idea on a subject, I start gathering images from Google searches to see what’s already out there. In Paper, I add photobook scans, maps for scouting, conceptual notes, news articles, shot lists, contact numbers for key locations, screen grabs from my phone or quick iPhone snaps. Paper has been incredibly useful for making these types of ideas more concrete to share or just review later on.

Essential Work Tools

My editing workflow is pretty straightforward. I use Adobe Bridge for file management (culling, organizing, labeling, converting) and Adobe Camera Raw (or less frequently Lightroom) along with some additional work in Adobe Photoshop to edit my digital photographs. These programs are essential to every job I work on.

Photo by James Chororos
Photo by James Chororos

James Chororos is a commercial, editorial, and documentary photographer based in New York City.

--

--

FiftyThree
A Space to Create - FiftyThree's Blog

Makers of the award-winning Paper, the beautiful app for getting ideas down, and Paste the collaboration tool for fast moving teams.