How I Changed My Muscle Structure in 6 Months

Or rather, how it took 6 months for my muscles to change how they respond to exercise

Rajeet S
Fighting Fit

--

Apologies for the self-indulgent selfies.

**Join Medium here if you aren’t already a member to get access to 1,000s more articles**

A few years ago I had a bit of a beer belly because I enjoyed the odd pint or 3 too often (this was before the picture on the left, above. Surprisingly, I didn’t take any shirtless selfies when I had a proper beer belly).

My girlfriend at the time, who was pretty physically fit, would poke it and giggle, so after a year I thought enough is enough and resolved to get fit. This happened to be around the same time the Insanity Workout was becoming popular, so I bought the DVD and also bought a power tower. Six months later I’d become drastically fitter (the picture on the right).

To those unfamiliar, Insanity is a High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) workout with the focus on Intensity. It takes normal cardio and dials it up about 50 notches until you’re sweating buckets and barely able to breathe.

I also want to say here, I don’t go to the gym at all. I did all this at home and didn’t wake up stupidly early everyday or spend hours and hours pumping iron. I also didn’t starve myself or drastically change my eating habits.

--

--

Rajeet S
Fighting Fit

Rajeet enjoys mixing cocktails and bombarding strangers with philosophy.