Up till now..

Sammy Hendrick
fila + strati
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2015

I guess as a first post to this project, it would be good to give a little background on what this it going to be about. To be quite honest, I’m not 100% sure. As someone who went to an art school but ended up in a technology field, I haven’t dabled much in any fine arts with the exception of occasionally going to figure drawing sessions.

I use my iPad and a touch sensitive stylus for figure drawing sessions both for convenience and to make it easier to share and eventually export somehow. I’ve been contemplating this for a while, thinking about silkscreening processes or just going the inkjet route. It wasn’t till I started playing around with my 3D printer and discovered one of the applications actually allows you to create a 3D print from a grayscale image, the black being the highest point and the white being the lowest point. This got me to thinking about the printer’s bed as a canvas of sorts.

I was also thinking about how even though you can only print in one color, you can switch out filaments mid-print and have multiple colors laid on. If I could draw in vectors and then extrude these shapes into a type of stepped print, I could then have multiple layers, similar to layering with silkscreening, but with plastic.

Thus my journey began. I’ll post inspiration, ideas and photos of the process here. Hopefully documenting this will give a little more insight into my ideas and put a little pressure on myself to keep running with it. :-)

--

--