10 Years Is Not Uncommon To Make A Movie by Long Beach City College Professor Elias Daughdrill

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: You have a movie that is about religion but you say it’s not faith-based?

Long Beach City College Film Professor/Filmmaker, Elias Daughdrill: Yes, it’s not a faith-based film but it’s a film about religion. I guess religion is a subject matter but faith-based means to me that it’s a movie that is trying to get the audience to believe in a specific religious doctrine because that is what most faith-based movies do. And so it’s not that, it’s not a film trying to proselytize.

I grew up in that world. I grew up an evangelical Christian and so naturally it’s something I find interesting. And I could tell a specific story about it so that’s why I got interested in it and decided to make it.

Film Courage: And the film hasn’t been released yet?

Elias: No, it’s not finished yet, almost. I’m in the midst of color and sound design and all of that sort of stuff so we’re almost there.

Film Courage: When you were creating the protagonist for the film, did you start with a problem or a dilemma that needed to be solved?

Elias: Hmmm…yes…I guess I did? I knew I wanted to make a film in that world and I knew I wanted to design it around a scenario where a character who is devout goes through a crisis. A character who is only seen or understood the world in one way is then put into a situation where…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!