3 Important Lessons From Producing Over 30 Films by Passionflix CoFounder Tosca Musk

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJan 19, 2018
Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Film Courage: Looking at your IMDB [page] you have 31 or so producing credits. I’m sure there are going to be more by the time of this video release. Which production taught you the most?

Passionflix CoFounder Tosca Musk: Wow! Well, I’ve learned a lot on so many of the different movies that I’ve done, so it depends on what did I learn?

I’ve made a lot of movies and I think that the ones that have taught me the most are I made a movie called HAVENHURST (that one taught me a lot). It was a horror to me, it was horror film. It was very difficult and I realize there are many things that I will not do again, so that’s a great thing to learn. Great movie, the movie ultimately ended up being very good, but the experience for me as a producer was not a great one.

Photo courtesy of Passionflix

The things that I’ve learned the most, I mean I’ve made a lot of movies. I think ultimately the best lesson that I’ve learned (which is from making the Passionflix movies) is that I need to enjoy the experience from start to finish because it is very hard to make a movie and it costs a lot of money. And if you’re not enjoying it, then there is no reason to do it. So I learned that from making these movies prior to this (prior to Passionflix) realizing that (from hindsight) I did not enjoy making a lot of those movies and I do enjoy making the Passionflix movies. They’re fulfilling, they make me happy, I can’t wait to make the next one.

New videos daily at 5:00 p.m. Pacific time

Whereas prior to that I was not enjoying them, it was more of a job. Not to say they were bad experiences, I made some great movies and I really enjoyed the people and fortunately now with Passionflix I get to bring so many of those people on to my productions. But sometimes when you are working for other people and you’re getting notes from them, they’re not necessarily the notes that I would probably…how can I say this? Sometimes their interpretation of what the movie should be is not my interpretation of what the movie should be and that is filmmaking. I mean that’s the creative process. I don’t necessarily want to show women in a certain light and so I didn’t enjoy that specific film. And now I get to show a woman in the light that I like to show them, so it makes me happy. I just like to have positive experiences in film, I think that’s the important thing…(Read the full post and watch the video on FilmCourage.com here).

Photo courtesy of Passionflix

SIGN UP WITH PASSIONFLIX
Passionflix.com

CONNECT WITH PASSIONFLIX
Passionflix.com
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

CONNECT WITH TOSCA MUSK
Passionflix.com
IMDB
Instagram
Twitter

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!