3 Reasons Why I Started Making Action Movies — James Cullen Bressack

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
4 min readNov 25, 2021

--

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

James Cullen Bressack, Filmmaker: Right now we’re being dictated stylistically by the John Wick films and The Raid movies. That’s what I think of when I think of this generation’s action stuff.

Film Courage: James, tell us about your decision as a director and a producer to move from horror into action films?

James: I wanted to do action movies because I started noticing there’s not a lot of super low-budget action movies. I’d hit this wall in horror where I kind of had to reinvent myself because I was making $150,000-$200,000-$300,000 horror movies. What would happen is producers would be like How much did you make this for? I’d tell them and they’d be like Wow. I used to think people would be like He made it for two hundred thousand dollars? Imagine what he could do with three million? But they’d be like He made it for two hundred thousand dollars. This guy’s good at two hundred thousand dollars. Let’s give him two hundred thousand dollars. I was like Oh crap, I need to go up higher and I wanted to work with more name talent (more recognizable name talent) and so I was like Okay, well action.

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!