4 Ways Screenwriters Can Overcome Rejection In Hollywood by Author Kathie Fong Yoneda

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readJan 22, 2018
Watch the video interview on Youtube here

Film Courage: Should a writer aim for a certain amount of rejections per year? And if they’re not getting those rejections, maybe this means they’re probably not getting out there enough? Is that an interesting way to look at it or maybe I am being too negative here? That is entirely possible.

Kathie Fong Yoneda: You know, I don’t know if there is such a thing as a certain number of rejections?

Whether you are setting the bar for something for failure or not. Instead I would turn it around and say “Okay, I think once a week set a goal for doing at least one piece of marketing or two pieces of marketing.” I think that’s a better way of looking at it than saying “Okay I’ve reached the threshold of ten rejections this month so I’m not going to do anything now.”

That to me is more negative. So I would say “Okay let’s do this in a week. Why don’t I look up five different places that I can send out letters or that I can send emails to or why don’t I look up ten different resources for screenwriting competitions or something. Doing something like that I think is much more productive because you never know when one of those are going to come. But to just say “Well, okay if I did this many rejections then that means I quit.” Because who knows if you didn’t do that next one?

Film Courage: Define pieces of marketing?

Kathie Fong Yoneda: Marketing just means making the effort to get out there…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

Watch the video interview here

CONNECT WITH KATHIE FONG YONEDA

KathieFongYoneda.com

ABOUT KATHIE:

With over 25 years of industry experience, Kathie Fong Yoneda has worked for such prestigious studios as Paramount, Columbia, MGM, Universal, 20th Century Fox, and Disney, specializing in story analysis and development of live action and animated projects. Her career includes executive positions with Walt Disney, Touchstone, Island Pictures and Walt Disney TV Animation where she has evaluated more than 18,000 submissions (Read more here).

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!