5 Signs You Are Ready To Share Your Personal Story With An Audience by Macy Phung

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readMay 5, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Hi, my name is Macy Phung. Today I will be telling you the 5 signs you are ready to share your personal story with an audience.

My life is a dance. I experienced mania which is happiness and sunshine. And on the other end I experienced depression which is sadness and my melodic song becomes mellow.

In between we have the intricate symbols from the universe and everything is intertwined.

You can see my illness quote unquote schizoaffective disorder is not a curse but rather a blessing in disguise. Without further ado I will be telling you my personal story.

My mother and father grew up during the Vietnam War in China and Vietnam where they experienced poverty and unrest.

Then they immigrated to America for the American Dream where my sister, brother and I had better opportunities.

In high school I was very shy. I was not confident however I worked very hard to get good grades because I know how much my parents sacrificed for us.

By the time I was 18 years old I was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder which in my case is a combination of schizophrenia and manic depression.

I experienced my first blow of mania and I was elated and happy. I could share my opinions without caring about other people’s perceptions of me. During this time I really bonded with my family for the first time, especially my sister. She was there for me every step of the way. She took me out on outings and she treated me as a good sister would.

I wanted to capture my experience so I decided to make my very first short film called A RIPPLE IN TIME which is about two sisters and the uncertainty which lies with schizoaffective disorder and the future.

Your life story is always evolving all the way up to your last breath.

If you are able to tell your personal story in front of a big audience full of people or through viewers or readers, I’m able to be vulnerable and true to be myself.

Our film was praised and commended at a film festival in San Francisco and I knew that I wanted to hold on to this moment.

At that point I knew that I wanted to be a filmmaker, that is my dream.

The Universe gave me symbols and it told me that my mission in life is to end poverty with awareness though dance by 2030. I carried this mission with me everywhere but for several years I was so lonely…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

_________________________________________________________________

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!