5 Steps To Adapting A Stephen King Book Into A Movie — Inside Look At WILLA

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

5 Steps To Adapting A Stephen King Book Into A Movie — Inside Look At WILLA via Filmcourage.com.

Barbara Szeman, Producer of WILLA: Corey Mayne [Director] and I have done several films and projects together in the past and we were looking for any reason to get together and create another one but to really make this one on a whole other level and during the process we decided to adapt Stephen King’s Willa.

We came up with five steps to adapting a book to a film.

Corey Mayne, Director of WILLA: Number one it would be to find a story that speaks to you. I read WILLA while ago and I just really responded to the general atmosphere that Stephen King created with his characters and the setting. I really just wanted to take the audience for a ride visually and emotionally and I felt that WILLA was the best opportunity to do that.

Really you just have to rely on your instincts. What speaks to you? What do you find yourself thinking about days and weeks after you’ve read it?

Adrian Jaworski, actor who plays David in Willa: As an actor I really get a feel for the character’s growth from the first minute all the way to the end and have that nice arc of him kind of learning a lesson in all of this. And not only that put putting myself in the shoes of the character and asking myself questions and what I would do and how I would go about doing it. And just kind of moving forward with my co-stars helping it out and driving a really good story forward. Especially being an adaptation from Stephen King. You want to definitely do that justice.

Keli Mayne, actress who plays WILLA: What I really hope people take from this and what I really think would be cool is if people walked away from seeing this film with a different perspective on how they see the world because I actually found myself doing that after.

I kind of living and thinking about the film in the story and actually questioning if things around me are actually real.

Barbara: So step number two is what is your film?

Corey: Is it a short? Is it a feature? Is it a television series? Is it a web series? All of that is going to effect how you tell your story.

Barbara: If you only have 15 minutes to make a film then how are you going to structure that? And how are you going to structure your story to being 15 minutes?…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

_________________________________________________________________

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!