5 Things Distributors Look For In A Movie by Mark Harris

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: Do you pitch distributors an idea for your screenplay before you begin making the movie?

Mark Harris, Filmmaker: No, never. What I do is if I have an idea for the movie I let it play out over and over again and actually I write the screenplay out. I have a good solid first draft before I even talk to any distribution companies or producers. Once I have a solid first draft which people can read but I know that I’m going to have to make changes to it is when I decide this is when I’m going to pitch to a distribution company or a producer. But I’ve never ever pitched just an idea.

Film Courage: Just to see is this viable? Would you want to take this title on? You’ve never?

Mark: No, I’ve never done it. I’m sure there are filmmakers who have done it before. But I wouldn’t feel comfortable pitching an idea to a producer unless it’s like a comedy show where something is unscripted. I’ve done that before but an actual scripted, narrative, feature film…no. I wouldn’t feel comfortable just pitching it out there like that. I have to have something when they say Yes, I have to have something I can send directly over to them so they can go ahead and read it so we can move forward.

Film Courage: What are five things a distributor wants in a movie?

Mark: Cast…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!