A Short Film Dedicated to Showing the “Horrors of Reality” to Inspire Change From Inequality, Racism and Homophobia — Q and A with Filmmaker Dylan Wayne Lawrence

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
7 min readDec 9, 2016
Dylan Wayne Lawrence — HELLo tHERE Movie

(Read the full Q&A with Dylan on FilmCourage.com here)

Film Courage: Where did you grow up?

Dylan Wayne Lawrence: I grew up in a small Alaskan town called, Kenai. I have very found memories growing up there, but also very bad ones. The amazing thing about living in a small town is that everyone knows everyone. There’s a greater sense of pride in the community. On the flip side, that also means everyone knows everyone’s business and you can easily get shunned as a black sheep. Being completely honest, my childhood was a constant battle ground for physical and verbal abuse. I wasn’t “out” at the time, but a lot of kids knew I was gay and made sure to torture me for being different. It’s a shame how cruel people can be, but I’m much stronger for it.

Dylan as a child

Film Courage: How do you see yourself in the world?

Dylan: To start, I like to see myself as simply a good person…someone who is nonjudgemental, loving and accepting of all things. Ideally I’d like to be seen as a Great Influencer for positive societal movements throughout the world…equality being the key goal to everything. I can’t say this enough, but there is only one race and that’s the human race. I’m confused why so many people blatantly choose to ignore that fact.

“No matter how lonely you are or how hard things get, you have to keep pushing forward. I can’t remember who said this, but you only really fail when you stop trying. Never give up. Believe in yourself and trust that you can do anything you set your mind to.”

Dylan Wayne Lawrence, HELLo tHERE Movie

Film Courage: How do you want others to see you as an artist?

Dylan: I’d like to someday be viewed as a true artist, not just another Hollywood name people love to “ooh” and “awe” at, but seen as a performer who does great work, allowing themselves to truly be vulnerable and tell beautiful stories. My goal as an artist, first and foremost, is to always tell stories that I believe in and feel can have a positive impact on the world. As actors, we’ve all done those projects for the paycheck (a guy’s gotta eat, ya’ know), but I try to audition for roles that expand my mind to greater ways of thinking.

Film Courage: We understand you spent your childhood performing in community theater? How many plays did you perform in, what size audience, any supportive/gratifying or even embarrassing experiences you can share?

Dylan: I surprisingly didn’t perform in too many productions growing up…no more than a dozen shows. I really didn’t get into theater until high school. I was always that kid with a film camera at his side making movies with his friends. I’ve always been more drawn to the medium of film, but theater gave me the opportunity to exert my creativity in another outlet.

Film Courage: How old were you upon moving from Alaska?

Dylan: I moved from home when I was about sixteen. One day I woke up and decided it was time to get serious about my film career. I told my mom I was moving out and in the next couple of months, I did just that. I didn’t make the big leap to LA right off the bat though. I finished high school in Oregon where my dad lives and pursued the industry there. It was a great experience with more creative opportunities then I would’ve had if I stayed in Alaska. Plus, I got to get my toes wet in the industry, study the art, get an agent and build up my credentials before making my way to the City of Dreams.

Film Courage: Did you go to film school?

Dylan: I have very mixed feelings when it comes to higher education, mainly because I don’t feel it’s a necessary advancement for everyone. I went to college for communications and psychology as an online student for two years, but when it came down to studying for finals or studying for an audition, film always won. In this industry, I feel people care more about the work you’ve done than your actual schooling. Your work always speaks for itself, but it never hurts to have both. I just found for myself it wasn’t the right path for me.

Film Courage: When did you arrive in Los Angeles? What was the first moment you felt “I belong here.”

Dylan: I’ve been in LA for almost three years. I actually drove from Oregon down to LA. It was about a twenty-one hour drive and two-day trip with my 80 lb German Shepherd. I remember exactly the very first place I visited when I got to town. I pulled up to the Santa Monica Pier and walked the beach. I looked out at the beautiful ocean then back at the city behind me. I knew right then that I was home. I had this insensible feeling that this was where I was destined to be and I was overwhelmed with happiness for it.

Film Courage: Do you miss Oregon or Alaska?

Dylan: I definitely miss home for my family and friends. I also miss the snow and actual seasons. Not that I’m complaining, because constant sunshine is great, but change in weather is nice every now and again.

Film Courage: For people who “miss home” and want to go back, are there acting opportunities outside Los Angeles, New York, London, etc.?

Dylan: For sure, there are acting opportunities everywhere, just some more than others. New York, London, Canada…all great places to pursue the business. I almost moved to New York, but wanted to try sunnier weather for a bit. I think no matter where you go, a small part of you will always miss home…home is safe haven…a place filled with good memories, but the difference between actors who succeed and the ones who don’t, is persistence. No matter how lonely you are or how hard things get, you have to keep pushing forward. I can’t remember who said this, but you only really fail when you stop trying. Never give up. Believe in yourself and trust that you can do anything you set your mind to.

Film Courage: What is your routine in searching for acting work?

Dylan: I submit to acting roles everyday through various professional casting sites (Actors Access, LA Casting, Casting Frontier, etc). I also take Casting Director Workshops through various companies. It’s worth the time and cash to get in front of the right people who can have a major impact on your career. Oh and lets not forget, I network like crazy. Networking is huge for this business. Go to plays, events, premieres and any kind of social gathering to get yourself out there. I struggle with this at times, but it’s an essential part to being successful in this town. What’s the point of having this amazing idea if you never share it with the world? As actors, we are our own brand. Share your beautifully, unique self with anyone and everyone. You never know who you’ll meet!

Film Courage: Who came up with the story for HELLo tHERE?

Dylan: I came up with the HELLo tHERE concept. I always thought it would be an intriguing film to showcase the “horrors of reality” and how those truths can affect someone on a psychological level. It’s truly horrifying (no pun intended) how much hatred and misunderstandings consume our daily lives and what better way to showcase this monstrosity, than through the medium produced to capitalize on fear itself, the horror genre. Seems pretty fitting doesn’t it?

Film Courage: What is the story about?

Dylan: The film is about a repressed laundromat worker who is tormented by a dark and sinister presence. The film showcases the psychological trauma that can be caused by inequality, racism and homophobia. Our main character, Tyler, is literally confronted by a monster born from his own hate. How he overcomes his fears, well, you’ll just have to watch and find out!

Film Courage: Who wrote the script?

Dylan: I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I wrote the script in one sitting on the toilet. I don’t know why, but I always do my best work on the crapper. The script is exactly eight pages. They don’t call it a “short” film for no reason.

(Read the full Q&A with Dylan on FilmCourage.com here)

For more videos and articles, please visit Filmcourage Youtube and FilmCourage.com.

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!