Beginners Guide To Making Movies That Make Money — J. Horton [FULL INTERVIEW]

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2023

--

I’m J. Horton. I make movies that make money. This is how.

Film Courage: J. why do you say you are a filmmaker who makes money?

J. Horton, Filmmaker/Youtuber/Podcaster: I’m making a very specific style of movie. I’m making low-budget features, usually under a $100,000 and the vast majority of filmmakers that I talk to that are making movies at this level, a lot of them aren’t making money, they’re losing from the distributors or they’re self-distributing and not doing anything. They don’t know how to make money. I’ve directed 25 feature films at this point. The first probably 10 years of my career I wasn’t making a lot of money on these movies. I didn’t know how to navigate it. I learned how later on and I like to make it so that other filmmakers can maybe get to that point sooner than I did. I like to share some of that knowledge with them. It took me a long time before my movies were breaking even or making money. On top of that, as I was starting my Youtube channel I was there’s a couple of growth experts that I’m following…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!