Big Mistake A Director Can Make On Their First Feature Film by Matthew Miele of the Documentary ALWAYS AT THE CARLYLE

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2018
(Watch the trailer and video here on FilmCourage.com)

ALWAYS AT THE CARLYLE, a documentary by Matthew Miele about the famed hotel on Madison Ave released in New York on May 11th and Los Angeles on May 18th with additional cities to follow.

Photo credit — Justin Bare

Film Courage: What mistakes would you say you’ve made early on in your career with filmmaking whether it was with equipment, timing, whatever?

Matthew Miele, Filmmaker of Always at The Carlyle Documentary: The biggest mistake I ever made (and it was an inadvertent one), when I first was on set as a director, I didn’t spend time with the crew. And the reason I didn’t was because I didn’t want them to suspect and find out that I didn’t know much and I was inexperienced and I was doing this like total fish-out-of-water. I had no clue except for what I learned in school. But in school you do little videos and you’re not really directing a full on feature…(Watch the video interview and trailer here on FilmCourage.com).

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Our second channel is here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!