Bill Duke On The Day He Almost Died

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readDec 10, 2018
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Bill Duke On The Day He Almost Died via FilmCourage.com.

Bill Duke, Actor/Filmmaker/Author: I’ll give you another example, (it’s in my book) in 1984 I was working very hard and when your agent says “You’re tired.” You’ve got to take a vacation. My agent makes 10% of what you make. When your agent tells you to take a vacation, you know you’re exhausted.

So I took a vacation and went to Hawaii because he had just gotten married and told me to stay at the hotel there by myself. I just wanted to totally chill.

I was there for a week, I was there fore two weeks I said “I want to come back to this place. I’ve never been here. It’s beautiful.” So I got in the plane called the Island Hoppers, it goes from one island to another and they do a ground tour and then go to another island. We were on our way to Maui from the Big Island and it was a twin-engine plane.

And then all the sudden the plane started going [makes sputtering noises]. So we all stopped and said “What the heck?” And it stopped so we started laughing you know?

As soon as we laughed it went [more sputtering noises] and the fellow said “Sit down! Sit down! Sit down! Sit down! Sit down and buckle your seats.”

Now usually in the movies when a plane is in trouble the pilot says “Ladies and Gentlemen, be calm, be still, we’re in control.” Little bit about the pilot…the pilot was doing “Help us Jesus. Help us Mary. Help us Lord. Help us Jesus. Help us Mary. Help us Lord.” The pilot!

I look out the window and say “Damn, we sure are close to the…BAMMMM!” We crashed in the water…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

___________________________________________________________________

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily — subscribe at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Subscribe to the second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!