Director’s Guide To Prepping A TV Show by Daniel Stamm

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2019
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: When you sign on to direct a TV show, how much prep time are you given?

Daniel Stamm, Filmmaker/Television Director: Contractually I think they have to give me the script 24 hours before shooting starts. So that’s not a lot really. And it has to do with the fact that I am not expected to have creative input into development for the script. I am being hired to direct what’s on the page. I would say in real terms how that plays out is I have about a week I would say. And I’m coming from a screenwriting background so I have opinions on the script for better or for worse and if I’m right or not is a different thing. But I have the feeling that I’m kind of failing this episode if I’m not voicing my suggestions which I just write up, send to the showrunner and whatever of them they want to incorporate great. Whatever they don’t want to incorporate great. That’s the only time I ever suggest that…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

____________________________________________

See Film Courage’s collection of Writing and Filmmaking and Acting videos on Youtube.

New videos 5:00 p.m. daily! Subscribe to the main Film Courage Youtube channel and our second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!