Everyone In The Film Industry Needs To Stop Doing This — James Cullen Bressack

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
4 min readJan 21, 2022

--

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

James Cullen Bressack, Filmmaker: Nowhere else in the world outside of the film industry will somebody try to convince you that the thing that you want is not actually what you want.

Film Courage: James, off camera you mentioned an interesting analogy based on a conversation with your friend about distribution.

James: Distribution and also what audience’s expectations are. There’s a couple things that I would talk about within that but for instance I know for me I have a responsibility when I’m making a movie for an audience is when I make that movie they’re spending that same $7.99 (whether it’s my movie or a studio movie) to rent it or to buy it ($4.99 or whatever it is). It’s the same amount of money. So I have a responsibility to the audience to over deliver with beyond my budget as well as give them what they’re expecting of a movie. If they’re ordering this movie and this movie is a turkey sandwich, I can’t come out and then say Okay, well I know you were expecting a turkey sandwich, but let me give you some lasagna. You don’t order that at a restaurant and somebody comes out with lasagna and goes Well, I think you want lasagna more.That doesn’t work that way. I think of it also when I’m talking to distributors, distributors are expecting a certain thing. When you explain to them…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!