Everything You Don’t Learn In Film School — Blayne Weaver [FULL INTERVIEW]

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
3 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Photo by Jeffrey Hamilton on Unsplash

Film Courage: Do you remember the first time you met Matt Damon?

Blayne Weaver, Actor/Screenwriter/Producer/Director: Oh wow! The first time I met him was when I was filming a movie at 18 years old. It was the first job that I’d been able to do without my mom traveling with me. I went by myself to West Texas and to Alpine, Texas which is a small town now but in 1994 was a much smaller town apparently. I was staying in a Motel 6 and I met the guy who was going to play my older brother who was Matt Damon, who I didn’t know from anything. He wasn’t famous to me, he was just a guy and he was very kind to me and I think 25–26. You know what it’s like when you’re 26 and you have to hang out with this 18 year old but he did. He was very cool and the movie is called The Good Old Boys. It was directed by Tommy Lee Jones. It stars Frances McDormand and Terry Kinney and Sam Shepard and Wilford Brimley and all of these big, huge names. Matt was kind enough to kind of let me tag along with him through his conversations with these people because I was a neophyte at the…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!