Filmmaking Is A Tool To Change The World We Live In by Yvan Iturriaga [FULL INTERVIEW]

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2020
(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Film Courage: Yvan, you went to film school in Los Angeles?

Yvan Iturriaga, Filmmaker: Yes.

Film Courage: But then you moved back to the [San Francisco] Bay Area after finishing? Why is this?

Yvan: I went to school at Occidental College. While there I was actually ‘undecided.’ I tried out different studies: philosophy, economics, politics. I was trying to find what was my venue to affect the world. I come from a family that dedicated their life to it.

Eventually around my junior year, Occidental College was cool because it allows you to take your time to figure it out. After taking some classes I realized that film is my tool and I grabbed on to that.

I stayed in LA because obviously it makes sense (in LA studying film). I got into the camera world, I was a cameraman for this show called Mundos that was part of Telemundo’s Spanish MTV thing. It was fun. At 23, 24 filming everywhere…concerts. I was having fun but you kind of become the camera man. That is what I kept being called for and I wanted to write and direct.

I started being a PA and doing a few independent projects but being from The Bay [SF Bay Area], I knew that a lot of being a filmmaker is access and knowing people and I…(Watch the video interview on Youtube here).

(Watch the video interview on Youtube here)

Want more Film Courage videos? Check out new videos 5:00 p.m. daily — subscribe at the main Film Courage Youtube channel. Subscribe to the second Film Courage Youtube channel here

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!