Great Directors Don’t Have To Have The Best Ideas — James Cullen Bressack

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
4 min readMar 12, 2022

--

Film Courage: What do you love most about being on a movie set?

James Cullen Bressack, Filmmaker: I love being able to have conversations with people that are all working towards the same goal. I’ve started to figure out my method of directing has kind of changed over the years. I used to always think that I had the best ideas and everybody had to listen to exactly what I think. Then I started to go I have all these really smart people around me that are brilliant and have invested their time in vision as well. What I really should do is shape other people’s ideas. What I started to do is much more collaborative. I have conversations in more broad strokes with people then see what they bring back to me and then I start shaping it from there. It’s much more collaborative in that sense because I feel a good director doesn’t have to have the best ideas, they just have to recognize good ones. What I’ve started to do is direct people to shape it towards something that’s more what I envisioned, but while still bringing in what they brought to the table because…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!