Great Story Doesn’t Fake Authenticity — Troy DeVolld

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage
Published in
4 min readSep 27, 2022

--

Producer/Author Troy DeVolld [Reality TV: An Insider’s Guide to TV’s Hottest Market -2nd edition]

Film Courage: Can you give us examples of a show that you built off of a great character and then one where you started off of a great premise?

Troy DeVolld, Producer/Author: I’ll tell you my favorite from a character. There was a show that Bravo ran for many years called Flipping Out. I loved that show and I was there from the ground. One of the first things I did on the show was I went out and we had lunch with Jeff Lewis who was the star of that show, who is a really interesting guy who has actual OCD, and that was kind of the thing was the show was about him and the people that worked for him and how they deal with him having this very particular manner of doing things that is actually a medically diagnosed thing and about how he tries to bring himself in but sometimes can’t. I thought he was just such an interesting guy that when we did the pilot for the show there were so many times we would turn in a cut of the show and the note would come back like The show is called Flipping Out, he’s not flipping out enough. I was like He’s such a real guy, how do we satisfy the network but we also

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create
Film Courage

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!